Five Blondes

most of the time, at least. Sisters forever.

I just want the piece of paper. September 4, 2007

Filed under: blogging,erica,health,life,personal,university,Work — Erica @ 4:59 pm

 I had a very busy, very good weekend, but I’m going to save that for later this week.  Today’s topic (for me) is school.

I’m starting my last few classes to finish my degree in Film Theory starting next Monday and I’m going to have a lot on my plate. Working full time, studying for 3 classes, planning my wedding, just keeping my life going in general! Maybe that doesn’t sound all that hard to you, but I often have difficulty concentrating and I get tired very easily due to my medication (which, despite its side effects, has the positive effect of preventing seizures), making studying difficult.  There are some people who don’t quite believe this, but it’s true.

I want to finish university.  I don’t appreciate being a family joke: the eldest sister who probably won’t graduate until the youngest is done university herself.  Keep in mind that I took a full year off of school, and will be graduating without any student loans to pay off!  I have that going for me.  It’s just that a lot is being expected of me this fall, and I don’t want to disappoint anyone.  I don’t like the pressure.

I have a full time job that I enjoy.  Right now graduation is just about the piece of paper – honestly I would be a lot more comfortable (and likely successful) if I was given a bit more time to finish, rather than cramming the last 3 classes into this term.  But then there’s the OTHER piece of paper, the other event – the wedding.  No wedding until I’ve graduated.  I never agreed to that; it was decided.

 

One Response to “I just want the piece of paper.”

  1. Lauren Says:

    watch out er. im pretty close to being done


Leave a Reply

