Five Blondes

most of the time, at least. Sisters forever.

Blog Review October 1, 2007

Filed under: agriculture,blogging,farming,review — Kate @ 11:23 am

I recently came upon a new blog, that I felt the need to share with the world and express my love for it.

Confessions of a Pioneer Woman

This blog (updated daily) is written by a woman, who in her earlier years was city woman who went to college in Los Angelas. She moved home after college and met a man she calls ” The Marlboro Man” whom she eventually married. Marlboro Man is a cowboy rancher in Oklahoma and Ree always has interesting stories of life on the ranch. Together they have 4 adorable children.

Here’s Ree’s bibliography from her website:

“I’m Ree, a.k.a. Pioneer Woman. Welcome to my frontier!

I’m a thirty-something ranch wife, mother of four, and moderately-agoraphobic middle child who grew up on a golf course in the city. I attended college in Los Angeles and wore black pumps to work every day. I ate sushi and treated myself to pedicures on a semi-regular basis. I even kissed James Garner in an elevator once. Now I live in the middle of nowhere on a working cattle ranch. My days are spent changing diapers, chipping dried manure from boots, washing jeans, and frying calf nuts. I have no idea how I got here, but you know what? I love it. Don’t tell anyone.

I hope you enjoy my website. Here, I write about my decade long transition from spoiled city girl to domestic country wife. I post frequent audio clips of my children mispronouncing simple words and of me doing Ethel Merman impersonations. I also share delightful audio clips of different styles of burps as well as photos of my son picking his nose. I’ve been known to record phone conversations with my retarded brother, Mike. Please don’t be offended; I’m a Middle Child. And I’m just keepin’ it real.

I’ve embarrassed myself a lot. Once, I spilled a pot of hot tea on Gary Coleman’s lap.

love taking pictures and post frequent photos of my life on a working cattle ranch. And semi-regularly, I hold “Give That Photo a Name” contests, in which my readers enter suggested photo titles for a particular photo I’ve posted. The prizes are fabulous, and I get to swim around in your creativity for a day. Don’t miss ‘em!

In my spare time, I also manage to write, take pictures of nature, and compose ridiculous poetry in an effort to chronicle this bizarre, beautiful, and often hilarious journey I’m on. Thank you for allowing me to share it with you.

Also, check out my separate food blog, The Pioneer Woman Cooks! There, I post step-by-step pictorials of all the cowboy-pleasin’ dishes I’ve had to learn to cook over the years. You’ll love ‘em.”

You gotta check this blog out, it’s official I’m hooked!

 

Leave a Reply

