Five Blondes

most of the time, at least. Sisters forever.

How To Say I Love You November 12, 2007

Filed under: erica,life,love,relationships,thoughts,writing — Erica @ 5:19 pm
Tags: , ,

Man.  Our posting frequency has seriously diminished since the wedding.  Of course, we have our reasons…life went back to ‘normal’ and we had to catch up on stuff we had abandoned for the sake of the wedding.  Case in point: I had to study for a midterm (I had a midterm on Halloween :p ), and prepare to move to a new apartment!  Also, Kate has been away on her honeymoon in Costa Rica this past week.   I can’t vouch for Micaela, Leah, or Lauren…WAIT, I take that back, Lauren DID post the ‘optical illusion’, so, way to go Lauren!

Today I’m posting a link to a touching, yet sometimes odd, essay entitled How To Say I Love You by Paul Ford. I feel it is important to note that it is written from a male point of view, simply because I found some of the suggestions to be confusing when I first considered them from my female POV.

Ford poses his “How-To’s” in many different ways.  Some are short, simple statements that cause you to think twice, such as (2) with freshly cut flowers, assuming she is not a flower; and (46) At Thanksgiving, to her twin sister, by accident.  Others are fun, inspiring, and applicable to real life: (47) In glow-in-the-dark-paint on the bedroom ceiling; and (82) Change your status to “interested in: just friends”.

Some suggestions spoke to me from my unique perspective on the world – especially (50) Branded onto her favorite pig; and (86) via the poetry of Pablo Neruda or Jorge Luis Borges that you have copied into a small black journal.  I also loved (100), but I’ll leave that one as a surprise.

Ford includes his wedding vows as ways to say I love you…awww!  He also spins multiple “I Love You’s” into fictional stories.  Truly, this article is about how small, seemingly inconsequential acts are really testaments of love!

What little things do you do to say ‘I love you’?

 

2 Responses to “How To Say I Love You”

  1. […] Erica put an intriguing blog post on How To Say I Love You.Here’s a quick excerpt:Our posting frequency has seriously diminished since the wedding. Of course, we have our reasons…life went back to ‘normal’ and we had to catch up on stuff we had abandoned for the sake of the wedding. Case in point: I had to study for … […]

  2. Puckerbrush Says:

    Pablo Neruda totally knows how to say “I love you.” This is my favorite of his:

    The Potter

    Your whole body holds
    a goblet or gentle sweetness destined for
    me.

    When I let my hand climb,
    in each place I find a dove
    that was looking for me, as if
    my love, they had made you out of clay
    for my very own potter’s hands.

    Your knees, your breasts,
    your waist
    are missing in me, like in the hollow
    of a thirsting earth
    where they relinquished
    a form,
    and together
    we are complete like one single river,
    like one single grain of sand.

    Check out more at http://redpoppy.net/pablo_neruda.php


Leave a Reply

