Five Blondes

most of the time, at least. Sisters forever.

Christmas is right around the corner! November 23, 2007

Filed under: Christmas,Family,shopping — Kate @ 12:22 pm

Ok maybe not RIGHT around the corner, being 31 days away, but I just can’t help but get excited for the season, especially since we now have snow on the ground. We are a family that LOVES winter, snow, skiing, snowboarding, tobogganing.. give us it all, because we just love it. And along with all the fun activities comes the Christmas parties and Christmas decorations! This is my first year with my own house to decorate and I am so excited. I think I’m probably scaring Scott with all the plans I have to decorate.

We already have a Christmas tree (fake) which was a wedding gift from the choir leader at my church (no it’s not up yet!)! I do love a real Christmas tree, but I can appreciate the fact that fake trees do not shed, plus with a cat that loves climbing trees I know that we really do need a fake tree. So to make up for the lack of Christmas tree smell I think I’m going to have an air freshener in the room that has the fragrance of pine or fir, just to get the smell in the air. I’m such a cheater. For decorations on the tree I’ve managed to hold off from buying anything yet because I don’t want a mis-mash tree. Because decorations can get pretty pricey, Scott and I are probably just going to go to Zellers or Wal-Mart and buy lots of decorations that all match. That way we don’t invest too much into this tree and can always change decorations later if we decide we don’t like them (or if the cat breaks them all).

Here are some cute house decorations I’ve found on the internet so far… Take a look and show me your favourite Christmas decoration for your house!

centerpiece.jpg

How cute is this table centerpiece? Fill it with candy(covered chocolate balls) or small ornaments.

la102890_1207_growincircles_l.jpg

Martha Stewart has lots of ideas for decorations inside and outside your house.

untitled.jpg

I’m such a sucker for Pier 1 (as is Erica which you learned in her last entry)

 

4 Responses to “Christmas is right around the corner!”

  1. Erica Says:

    What – you don’t want a mish-mash decorated tree like we had growing up? 😉
    I remember being a little sad several years ago when mom made the executive decision that we would no longer use my paper-plate-and-crayon angel for the top of the tree. Ah, memories!

  2. Kate Says:

    I better have a nice tree when I can, because when (in a few years) kids come along there goes the nice tree out the window with all the kid decorations.. or I could just let them have their own tree. 2 trees! how cool!

  3. mom Says:

    Ah so now you are blaming a dysfunctional childhood on ugly dragged in during a snowstorm homemade craft decorated christmas trees? so sad….
    Erica I still have that angel if you want it for your tree this year….
    Katelyn if you have energy for 2 trees AND kids, I say go for it!

  4. Erica Says:

    I’m not blaming anything! I’m just saying, is all!


Leave a Reply

